Music Finis Africae - A Last Discovery

 A Last Discovery - The Essential Recordings 1984-2001

"Finis Africæ (or Finis Africae)". Words redolent of mystery and myth, of Europe looking out to new lands, new worlds, new times.

And so it is with "A Last Discovery", the work of Spaniard Juan Alberto Arteche Guel and his musical co-adventurers, recorded between 1984 and 2001. After 15 years of musical success in Spain with his band Nuestro Pequeño Mundo, Arteche was ready to experiment with new ideas, and with the purchase of a four-track reel-to-reel recorder he did so, exploring imaginary global music-worlds with a core of like-minded explorers. The group, dubbed "Finis Africæ" by JAA after reading Umberto Eco's "The Name of the Rose", where the term refers to forbidden books and hidden knowledge, released seven recordings over an eighteen-year period, the best of which are compiled here.

Finis Afriae was part of the "new wave" of Spanish music which gradually emerged after the end of the Francoist regime. Using modern electric instruments and traditional acoustic instruments from many cultures blended together via studio alchemy, a magic which grew even stronger with the acquisition of a sixteen-track recorder after their second release, Finis Africæ created an outward-looking musical multiverse, an unclassifiable amalgam encompassing elements of folk traditions from all over the world, skillfully and lovingly shaped into an inclusive pan-global whole. Deeply influenced by African music, the group's reverberant, organic minimal funk will appeal to DJs as well as all who yearn for the loving warmth that comes with the embrace of global possibilities.

With liner notes in Spanish, English and Japanese by JAA, "A Last Discovery" is available on double vinyl (with two bonus tracks). This is the first release by Finis Africae outside of their native Spain. Come take a retrospective journey of discovery.

New worlds await.

Text by: EM Records (Japan)


A1 Radio Tarifa (Tarifa Radio) 5:00
A2 Zoo Zulu (Zulu Zoo) 4:36
A3 Triciclos En La Chopera (La Chopera Tricycles) 3:22
A4 Pirulo, Cambia Cromos (Pirulo Exchange Trading Cards) 3:55
A5 Segundos, Segundos, Segundos (Seconds Seconds Seconds) 3:40
A6 Luna (Moon) 3:04
B1 Los Pobres Del Mundo Tocan El Bombo (Poor People Of The World Play The Bass Drum) 3:50
B2 El Abrazo De La Selva (The Jungle Hug) 4:45
B3 Los Colores De Mis Botas (The Colors Of My Boots) 3:55
B4 Juana Y Rosalía (Juana And Rosalia) 2:16
B5 Hybla (Hybla) 5:37
C1 Suite Amazónica (Amazonian Suite) 5:28
C2 Dança Do Corpo (Dance Of Body) 5:14
C3 Remontando El Purus (Going Up The Purus River) 7:56
C4 Hassell, El Oso Hormiguero (Hassell The Anteater) 2:03
D1 El Baile De Sara (Sara's Dance)
D2 Masai Mara (Mara Masai)
D3 Bahía De Los Genoveses (The Bay Of Genoa) 9:19

Delivery & Returns

All our orders are shipped by Fedex .

We have a daily pickup and will email you tracking details as soon as the parcel has been collected.

Shipping Rates
Belgium - The Netherlands - Luxemburg: Free (orders below 30 euro: 5€)

France - Germany: 5€ *

UK - Rest of Europe: 9€ *

USA - Canada - South Korea: 15€ *

Hong Kong - Japan - Australia: 18€ *

Rest of the world: 25€ *

Option for "in store pickup" when checking out (Belgium/The Netherlands only).

* orders below 35 euro : 25€

For more information, check our full shipping info.